New Moon – New Energies

1a2a3a4a

Tonight is the night of the indian and nepalese festival “Shivaratri” which is celebrated in reverence of the God Shiva. It takes place with the new moon arising this night! Shiva is a male good in hinduism and is known as “the destroyer” and “the transformer”. He destroys the universe at the end of a cycle (every 2,160,000,000 years) in order to make room for new creation. At the moment we are in the Kali Yuga year, which is the fourth part of the present cycle. Interestingly Shivas wife is called Kali and Hindus celebrate their wedding on Shivaratri. Bear with me if that is too superficial, I do not know a lot about Hindu gods and goddesses  (yet) 🙂

Anyway, it is told that the Shiva energy can remove old burdens and negative energies from those who let it happen. This is why I decided to dedicate this day and night to the god Shiva and be part of the most powerful night and the Hindu celebration of Sivaratri. This means I fast the whole day&night, stay awake, meditate and concentrate on the flow of energy. I definitely feel that I have a lot of burdens that I want to get rid of and today was a bit challenging for me emotionally. But what shows up can be removed so yeah I’m grateful 🙂

Certainly, as it doesn’t result out of a religious tradition for me, it’s kinda new and difficult. Also I did water-fasting before but for general cleansing reasons, this time it’s harder and yes, I am hungry by now but it’s still alright (22,5 h no eating). But I know this is a normal pysical reaction, wich isn’t bad or anything, a body can do without food for much longer than a day 🙂 Still, excited for breakfast haha!

Leave a Reply

